Skip navigation
Upcoming Events
10/28/19 - 10/31/19 | St. Paul | MN
Latest from the News Blog
January 09, 2019

Join AAC and your residency colleagues for a series of online meet-ups on the Zoom video...

December 20, 2018

The Alliance of Artists Communities consortium programs and regranting partnerships have...

December 20, 2018

Check out the following grant opportunities specifically suited for artist residency programs:...


Lois Weisberg to Receive 2011 Award

The Alliance of Artists Communities is proud to announce the recipient of the 2011 Mary T. Wolfe Catalyst Award, to be presented to Ms. Lois Weisberg in a special ceremony on Thursday, October 20, 6-9 pm (School of the Art Institute Ballroom, 112 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago).

The event will include live music, cocktails and hors d'ouevres, and silent and live auctions featuring one-of-a-kind art pieces and exclusive behind-the-scenes tours and performances.

Appointed by the late Mayor Harold Washington, Lois Weisberg served as Commissioner of the Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs from 1989 until 2011. In this role, Lois was as a member of the Mayor's cabinet and supervised a municipal department that is charged with making the arts accessible to all and with promoting the City of Chicago through its distinguished and diverse art and cultural attractions. Lois's many accomplishments include establishing the Chicago Cultural Center, making Chicago a national model in cultural tourism through cultural exchanges, initiating public art exhibitions such as Cows on Parade, developing Chicago Neighborhood Tours, creating the Chicago Coalition of Community Cultural Centers, Gallery 37, the Chicago Sister Cities International Program and many other nationally known initiatives. Prior to being appointed Commissioner, Lois served as the Mayor's Assistant for Special Projects, as Director of the Mayor's Office of Special Events where her initiatives included Taste of Chicago, the Chicago Blues Festival, the Chicago Gospel Festival, citywide neighborhood festivals, and the Chicago Holiday Sharing It Program. She is the recipient of numerous local and national awards including an award for extraordinary support and service to theatre in Chicago, the League of Women Voters Civic Contribution Award, Governing Magazine's Public Official of the Year Award, the Harold Washington History Maker Award, the Chicago Tribute "Chicagoan of the Year" award, and many others.

The award will be presented by Terri Hemmert, long-time DJ and radio personality at Chicago's WXRT.

The Mary T. Wolfe Catalyst Award honors its namesake by recognizing individuals who have had an outstanding impact on artists and the arts in their communities; who have dedicated extraordinary time, resources, and energy on behalf of artists; and who have inspired policy and philanthropy in support of the arts.

Named for former Alliance of Artists Communities' Trustee and Ohio native Mary Wofe, the award is also a testament to Mary's legacy. The impact Mary Wolfe has had on the arts is profound. As an advocate, supporter, leader and shaper of arts policy, Mary is truly a catalyst for changing the face of the arts community in Ohio and beyond. Mary is also committed to furthering the success of individual artists. An artist herself, Mary's position as an Art History teacher at Bowling Green State University allowed her the opportunity to meet and help students on an individual level, as well as create a scholarship that supports students in many areas of the arts. Through her roles as a volunteer and board member for the Arts Commission of Greater Toledo, the University of Toledo, the Maumee Valley Country Day School, the National Committee of the Whitney Museum, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Ohio Arts Council ,and the Alliance of Artists Communities, Mary has created a tremendous artistic legacy and has become a leading voice for arts support across the state of Ohio, the region, and the country.

Tickets to the event are $35. To purchase tickets or for more information, please visit